Brownies!! (GF, DF)

Gluten-free, dairy-free brownies! These are an adaptation of the recipe Lindsay shared here: http://makelyhome.com/the-best-brownies-you-will-ever-eat/. I’ve made these for social gatherings, and people have enjoyed them. To me, they taste very close to traditional wheat-based brownies made from box mixes, though I have never done a side-by-side test. According to my husband, “No one would ever know these are not made with wheat.” That’s my favorite feedback!

GLUTEN-FREE, DAIRY-FREE BROWNIES

Dry ingredients:
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup cornstarch
3/4 cup cocoa
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp xanthan gum
dash cinnamon (opt.)

Wet ingredients:
3 eggs (or 3/4 cup egg white)
2 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix.

Bake in a greased 9″ x 13″ dish for 35-45 mins.

I did a toothpick test about 2 inches from the edge. Texture may appear undone, but when brownies cool, they will be more like normal brownies. Overbaking will cause the outer edges to be hard.

Leave a comment