Biscuits (GF, DF)

biscuits

Here they are, the gluten-free, dairy-free biscuits! I’ve tried to make gluten-free biscuits so many times, but they have never been like this. At last! Of course, there is always room for tweaking. In my wheat days, I used to add about a tablespoon of instant mashed potatoes to my biscuits and liked it a lot. I’ll have to try that next time I make these. I also wondered about adding a little sugar. Let me know if you make a change that you like!

This recipe is essentially a gluten-free adaptation of the basic Baking Powder Biscuits in my 1978/1969 Betty Crocker cookbook. In the book is a variation called “Stir-n-Roll Biscuits” that uses oil instead of shortening. I did not do the rolling. Just one bowl, drop spoonfuls, and done! I think the challenge for most gluten-free baking is the flour combination, but I wonder if oil instead of shortening also makes a difference in the final texture.

3/4 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup cornstarch (or any starch)
1/4 cup potato starch flour
2-1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp xanthan gum
3/4 cup milk (or milk substitute, see below*)
1/3 cup neutral-tasting oil

Directions:  Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Combine dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl.

biscuit texture

Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix by hand.  In a greased pie plate**, drop by spoonfuls. Makes 8-9 biscuits.

Bake 12-14 minutes.

* I have found that So Delicious original coconut creamer is wonderful for cooking. For this recipe, I used 1/2 cup of the creamer and 1/4 cup of water. I do this to stretch the creamer, but you could try all creamer or any milk of your choice.

**You do not need to necessarily use a pie plate, but I felt it was better to use a dish with sides to provide support for the biscuits as they bake. This gf/df batter is thinner and more fluffy than wheat biscuit batter.

This entry was posted in bread.

Leave a comment